History of Interreg

Since its introduction in 1991, Interreg has been successful in the German-Dutch border region.
In its initial phase (until 1993), the programme mainly served to create personal connections between people, organisations and companies on both sides of the border. It also helped localise and fill in gaps in the cross-border infrastructure.
The four German-Dutch border regions (Ems Dollart Region, EUREGIO, Euregio Rhine-Waal, euregio rhine-meuse-north) were divided into four separate programme areas.
The second phase (INTERREG II, 1994-1999) was devoted to embedding the new partnerships more firmly in the regions and to improving the quality of the projects.
The new Interreg VI programme builds on this.
Important points in the context of cohesion policy 2021-2027 are, for example, the promotion of economic growth, employment, social inclusion and better cooperation in the border region.

Programme area and financial framework

Karte Programmgebiet
The area covered by the Interreg programme Deutschland – Nederland extends from the Wadden Sea to the Lower Rhine and along a 460-kilometre-long border.
The programme area consists of parts of the German federal states of Lower Saxony and North Rhine-Westphalia and parts of the Dutch provinces of Friesland, Groningen, Drenthe, Flevoland, Overijssel, Gelderland, North Brabant and Limburg.
The European Commission will make approximately 225 million euros available from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) to the Interreg VI A programme Deutschland – Nederland 2021-2027.
National ministries, provinces and other regional and local organisations will also be making co-funding available. In total, almost half a billion euros will be available for cross-border projects until 2027.

The Interreg partners share joint responsibility for programme implementation.

Therefore, they concluded an agreement, which defines the powers and obligations regarding the implementation of the Interreg programme.

  • Ministry of Economic Affairs, Industry, Climate Action and Energy of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia (Germany)
  • Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate (Netherlands)
  • Lower Saxony Ministry of Federal and European Affairs and Regional Development (Germany)
  • Province of Groningen (Netherlands)
  • Province of Fryslân (Netherlands)
  • Province of Drenthe (Netherlands)
  • Province of Flevoland (Netherlands)
  • Province of Overijssel (Netherlands)
  • Province of Gelderland (Netherlands)
  • Province of North-Brabant (Netherlands)
  • Province of Limburg (Netherlands)
  • Ems Dollart Region
  • Euregio Rhine-Waal
  • Euregio rhine-meuse-north



We in social media