Deutschland-Nederland SpoorRegio / SchienenRegio

SpoorRegio / SchienenRegio

The “EUREGIO SchienenRegion” project, finished in summer 2018, aimed at improving the international, cross-border rail connections in the area of the EUREGIO and around the Amsterdam – Berlin carrier line. The development and improvement of high-speed rail lines is recognised by the European Union as important. Measures, which contribute to shortening travel times, increasing frequencies and improving the reliability of cross-border rail connections on the Berlin line and cross-border interregional feeder lines, were examined. The urban and rural areas in the EUREGIO should be linked as efficiently as possible.
The participating partners are responsible for the further development of the rail network in the border region and they therefore need joint studies with concrete proposals for improvements. Besides that, the study can be used to demonstrate the visibility and importance of cross-border rail connections at national level. The results of the studies were presented to the parties that were involved and introduced to the regional committees. In addition, the possibilities of support through the TEN-T programme have been explored because the Amsterdam-Berlin link is part of the North Sea-Baltic corridor within this program.


Planned project costs

399.092,89 €

Project Duration

1.1.2016 - 1.7.2018


Socio-cultural and territorial cohesion in the programme area

Lead Partner

Partner Provincie Overijssel

Project partners

Bentheimer Eisenbahn AG, Zweckverband SPNV Munsterland (ZVM),


Financer Amount
Landkreis Osnabruck (WIGOS) 5.000,00 €
Provincie Overijssel 19.954,64 €
Provincie Drenthe 4.390,46 €
Bentheimer Eisenbahn AG 5.000,00 €
Zweckverband SPNV Munsterland (ZVM) 33.046,15 €
MB Niedersachsen 13.566,52 €
Regio Twente 15.000,00 €
Partner Provincie Overijssel 37.291,26 €
MWIDE NRW 26.342,77 €
Industrie- und Handelskammer Nord Westfalen 2.500,00 €
Stad Osnabruck 5.000,00 €
Provincie Gelderland 19.954,64 €
Landkreis Grafschaft Bentheim 5.000,00 €
Industrie- und Hannelskammer Osnabruck/Emsland/Grafschaft Bentheim 2.500,00 €
Stadt Munster 5.000,00 €
EFRE / EFRO 199.546,45 €